30 kinds of wonderful: 26. Road trips.

OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here.

Now let’s go!

26. Road trips

Last blog post I explained the cycle of abuse that has led to my strange fixation with desolation and boredom. This explains why I enjoy Australian road trips so much.

I’m actually not sure how the beloved design fascist felt about our recent adventure. It might take him a few weeks and many drinks to let his true feelings on the subject be known.

But I loved it.

For those unfamiliar with the true scale of driving around Australia, let me explain. Unlike most of the developed world, it is perfectly normal to drive for 80km between towns in Australia. And I’m not talking cities. I’m talking towns. One petrol pump sort of towns. And sometimes that petrol pump isn’t working. And this is in the densely populated Eastern states. I’m pretty sure you can quadruple those distances once you’re driving around the more arid bits.

This means that there is a lot of time (and space) for the mind to wander. And it’s quite eventful when something appears on the horizon. It might be a lake…

Or a mountain range.

Or the moon.

If it all gets a bit too empty for you, you can always head for the coast, which can be dramatic.

Or statuesque.

And it pays to look down. There are some real survivors hanging around at ground level.

We had a rather nice little cottage waiting for us at the end of the long drive, with quite a few kangaroos who only came out at night.

And then, if you’re a city person, which in our heart of hearts we are, when you drive in to the big city, you’ll be dazzled by the bright lights, and realise how strange and beautiful this world of ours truly is.

A wonderful way to welcome in a new decade. Hello thirties!

~ by Niccola on February 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
