30 kinds of wonderful: 24. Longest birthday ever.

OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here.

Now let’s go!

24. Longest birthday ever

I like to think of my 27th birthday as my birthday in the sky. My logic was that since I’m so obsessed with travelling (hell, I even love airports!) it might be fun to fly about as far as it’s possible to fly in a day, on my birthday. But of course!

My birthday went like this…

We wake up… “happy birthdays” and all that.

We prepare to depart for the airport. Qantas calls. “Your flight has been delayed 6 hours” (have I ever told you just how much I love our national carrier?). We go to breakfast. Which rolls on to lunch. Then our house sitters turn up, so we head to the airport. Where we have beers watching the planes take off.

At last we take off, and eventually reach San Francisco. After a lecture on (our lack of) matrimony by a patronising, obnoxious and aggressively religious USA customs officer we find ourselves delayed in San Francisco as (surprise surprise) we have missed our connecting flight. We convince the USA officials to release us into their country and make our way to Haight Ashbury via a badly planned route involving 45 minutes of trudging up hills carrying our luggage. We have more beers in Haight Ashbury and return to the airport.

We set off for Vancouver, arriving just in time (ignoring the mandatory 55-minute unexplained wait) for the last shuttle bus of the night to Whistler. We arrive in Whistler at 11:45pm, still on my birthday. Longest birthday ever? I believe so! Just as great as I expected it to be? Absolutely!

And how awesome was Whistler? So awesome. Just look at this… The sky actually sparkled with ice/snow crystals. I’ve actually never seen that anywhere else. Stunning.

Somewhat unrelatedly, I then got to visit my very cute nephew (and his parents) in Boston. Here he is, humouring me by pretending to enjoy colouring in my cartoon animals.

~ by Niccola on January 28, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
