30 kinds of wonderful: 23. New toys.

OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here.

Now let’s go!

23. New toys

I think we’ve pretty clearly established a few things so far. I like travel. I am an obsessive hobbyist. And thematically I bounce all over the place. I’m also pretty girly, as has been pointed out to me by several readers recently. All true.

I really, really like new toys (how very “30 going on 3” that sounds). My two latest acquisitions are an electric keyboard (more on that in another post) and a sewing machine – my early 30th present! Love love love!

Two of my favourite things, The Spruce and 60s furniture, don’t go so well together. So my first project with my new toy was to rustle up some protective covers to protect my beloved sofa from my beloved dog.

Here is the Spruce modelling my fine upholstery efforts (thanks Design Sponge for the awesome tutorial, by the way!). She is looking rather elderly and dignified. With age, her inner greyhound seems to be revealing itself more. Unlike our cats, who all adore modelling for the camera, the Spruce always gets stressed when I photograph her. I like to think that she’s concerned that I’m stealing her soul but my rational side suspects it might just be the shutter noise. You can see here how she steadfastly avoids eye contact throughout.

~ by Niccola on January 28, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
