30 kinds of wonderful: 22. Going all the way round.

OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here.

Now let’s go!

22. Going all the way round

I can thank my first ad agency for infecting me with the travel bug. When I was 21 they awarded me Employee of the Year (boy was I eager in those days) and gave me $10,000 to travel around the world. (Well, maybe it was tickets to the Cannes Advertising Festival but I got creative with the route there and back). It went like this…

Tokyo. Home of giant traffic cones…

… and super cool bar toilets…

Amsterdam and Rotterdam. Where I looked quite stoned but actually wasn’t…

Paris. Where we picnic-ed by the Seine.

The fast train to Nice, where we met this friendly dog.

Nice, where we gazed onto terracotta files from the rooftop pool…

… and visited a night market or two…

London, where we pottered around Notting Hill…

And I photographed lots…

… and lots of second-hand items…

… and we enjoyed the shop window design…

… and had coffee in Clerkenwell…

And then strode around Portobello Road in the wee small hours.

And New York, where we learned that pigs really can fly (look at the shadow)…

… and they like window shopping as well.

~ by Niccola on January 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
