30 kinds of wonderful: 19. Wild things.

Image illustrated by Maurice Sendak, via Monster Brains.

OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here.
Now let’s go!

19. Wild things

I thought it was time that I did another less literal “wonderful” post. So here’s another little string of things I find really wonderful.

Firstly, the Fleet Foxes, and if I have to get more specific, this video by Sean Pecknold:

It was actually the Fleet Foxes who inspired this whole 30 kinds of wonderful journey. I was sitting there at the Sydney Opera House, utterly mesmerised by the unreal visual DJing that accompanied their show, and the wonderful thing came to me. Their music gives me shivers.

What I love about this video is that all the weird and wonderful things that come to my mind when I listen to the Fleet Foxes seem to make cameo appearances in it.

There are some dancing monsters that remind me of the monsters in Where The Wild Things Are. This was my absolute favourite book as a small child. If I was ever brave enough to get a tattoo, it would be a Wild Thing. I thought the film was pretty cool too, but in my heart of hearts I still love Maurice Sendak’s illustrations the most. Monster Brains has a nice image gallery and interview with Maurice Sendak online if you’d like a look.

Image illustrated by Maurice Sendak, via Monster Brains.

Also in this Fleet Foxes video is a flying dragon that reminds me of Falkor the luckdragon in NeverEnding Story. Once again, I’m really referring to the book rather than the film. I only happened upon this as a teenager but I know my childhood self would have been transfixed by this book. I think it’s time to read it all over again.

And finally, because I’m now on a bit of a tangent, my favourite fairytale for adults, Pan’s Labyrinth.

So, Wild Things for children, teenagers and adults. In the words of Maurice Sendak… “let the wild rumpus start!”.

~ by Niccola on January 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
