30 kinds of wonderful: 13. Our very own apartment.

OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here.
Now let’s go!

13. Our very own apartment

Firstly, an apology for the sudden slowdown in posting. Everything suddenly got very, very busy and I was left cursing my lofty ambition of daily posting. But onward!

Pretty much the most wonderful day of my life so far would have to be the first night we spent in our very own (OWN!!!) apartment. As inevitably happens, settlement had been delayed, and there was a lot of foot stamping and tantrum throwing.

We were down to the wire (one day until Christmas, our lease had expired, and in two days we were flying to India). Somehow we managed to shed about a house’s worth of stuff and with the help of some very dear friends and family (to whom we are forever indebted), we crash landed in our grotty new pad. It was ripe for renovation, we were beyond exhausted, and we merely planted our mattress on the repulsive old carpet and went off to sleep.

Waking the next morning, the morning light flooding through the smoke-stained double glazing, was simply bliss.

The first bacon and egg roll from the closest cafe, eaten on the floor, looking up at the plane trees, green and lush outside the window, I fell in love with Potts Point and our new life there.

Even though we’ve now moved again, and our beautiful beloved apartment now has a new owner, I will always love it with all my heart.

So many memories! The photo at the top of the post commemorates the kermit green 60s furniture we had for a while. Amusingly, the day we brought the newly upholstered pieces home, the street flooded bright green!

We had a dodgy bathroom doorknob for the first few years there. It would periodically fall off, stranding an innocent inhabitant in the bathroom, which led to this email exchange between the beloved design fascist and myself, which still makes me laugh.

The beloved design fascist did the most wonderful renovation on our little apartment, turning it from 1970s flophouse to a minimalist dream. I still miss our incredible built-in wardrobes.

In fact, I miss all of it. But life moves on, and it did us proud.

To be continued.

~ by Niccola on January 17, 2012.

One Response to “30 kinds of wonderful: 13. Our very own apartment.”

  1. […] of my favourite things, The Spruce and 60s furniture, don’t go so well together. So my first project with my new toy was to rustle up some […]

Leave a Reply

 
