30 kinds of wonderful: 5. Crafternoon delight.

OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here.
Now let’s go!

5. Crafternoon delight

Basically, the existence of this blog, my ongoing sculpture studies and to a great degree my current sense of happiness, security and wellbeing, can be attributed to one thing.

The decision, one Saturday afternoon, to learn to crochet via youtube tutorials.

I know it sounds an odd starting point, but this singular decision sparked an amazing chain of events. Firstly, an amigurumi tutorial made me wonder… “Could I make an animal? My way???”. As it happened, the answer was yes.

Then I asked myself… “Could I, perhaps, make something a little larger???”. It turned out that answer was yes as well.

And then I realised, as my obsession drove me to more and more insane creations…

… that somewhere along the way, I’d found my creative spark again, at long last!

That sounds dramatic, but I really was feeling all washed up and burned out. A number of years of working in advertising had left me wondering whether I actually had any new ideas left within me at all. A crocheted giant squid reassured me that there was life in the old dog yet.

It made we wonder, “could I take this more seriously?”.

And I enrolled at art school to study sculpture, and it turned out that that answer was yes as well.

This blog chronicles that whole process – from my first naive creations, through my etsy store, a crazy couple of Christmas markets, my start at art school, and it also enabled me to make some special new friends…

… my crafternoon buddies!

They are one bloody amazing group of women. We’re kindred spirits, sharing a love of all things crafty, baked treats and cycling. And I’m a happier person for having them in my life! Much love…

To be continued tomorrow.

~ by Niccola on January 7, 2012.

One Response to “30 kinds of wonderful: 5. Crafternoon delight.”

  1. Oh how I loved those heady days of baking and crafting. Have been out of the loop for a while, but as the weather turns cold again sometime in the next few months (did it ever really get hot enough to be called a Summer?) I would be very keen for some more crafternoon wonderfulness… K x

Leave a Reply

 
