30 kinds of wonderful: 2. The Spruce.

OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here.
Now let’s go!

2. The Spruce

I must admit that this one gives me a slight case of the guilts. After all, the Spruce (real name Lucille/Lucie, just so you know) is but one of many, many, beloved pets I’ve had over the years. Very quickly, let’s review my many other furry friends:
The cats- Fango, Pushkin, Olivander, Alice and Lenin, plus two that I “borrowed” as a young child, Einstein and Snaggles (and Snaggles’ kittens!!! Ooohhhh!!!).
The dogs- Pelli and Satchmo.
The blue tongue lizard- Fredel.
And the countless fish- Sorry fish, you were too numerous to name!

Why the Spruce? Because she’s my $10,000 pound puppy. I rescued her from the RSPCA when she was a teeny pup, and I was not yet 21. I taught her to swim, and catch a frisbee. At six months, we discovered that she had a nasty genetic defect courtesy of her ridgeback genes – essentially a whorl of ingrown hair that was tunnelling rapidly towards her spine. Surgery: $1500(ish). At one year, I discovered a tumour in her jaw, which turned out to be bone cancer, and I poured a recent inheritance (thank you grandmothers x 2) into experimental surgery where her half her lower jaw was amputated. Surgery + chemotherapy: $7,500(ish).
And then more recently, she had root canal surgery. Love you, Spruce!

But it was worth it.

The Spruce is the best dog ever. She’s humorous (that half jaw gives her an endearing crooked smile), maternal (she raised a kitten and still mothers the cats), wickedly clever (10m vertical sandstone cliffs are no impediment to a Spruce who has spotted a toy floating out to sea), and a complete sook (she prefers to sleep with her head in your lap, thank you very much).

Love love love love.

That cheeky smile…

Snuggled up with Alice the cat.

To be continued tomorrow…

~ by Niccola on January 4, 2012.

One Response to “30 kinds of wonderful: 2. The Spruce.”

  1. […] of my favourite things, The Spruce and 60s furniture, don’t go so well together. So my first project with my new toy was to […]

Leave a Reply

 
