30 kinds of wonderful: 1. Snow.

This is ambitious and I’m wondering if I’m setting myself up for a fall, but here’s the plan…

I turn 30 in one month today, and so I decided that it was time to take stock and figure out 30 of the most wonderful things, experiences, places, tastes, times, people and furry friends who’ve made this 30 years so special.

So… 30 days. 30 kinds of wonderful. And then I turn 30. Still following? Excellent!

Let’s begin, in no particular order.

1. Snow

Why snow? Because nothing comes close to snow in my heart and dreams. I had to make do with imagining it until I was 25. And when the time came to experience it at long last, it did not disappoint. There is nothing more magical than snow. I get a lump in my throat and a little skip in my heart when I so much as think of it. My inner child lives in a snow dome, I believe. She always has.

Well, hello, snow! Cardrona in New Zealand. It was far from smooth sailing, and I may have spent more time taking photos than actually snowboarding on that first trip, but it was still pretty special.

My very own snowboard! I call this my Snow Dork photo. It’s not very attractive. But my joy is evident!

I have to admit that my beloved snowboard looks more at home in the snow than in the apartment. Admire my very loud “Phat Pants”. This was taken on a rather patchy trip to Whistler, Canada.

Surreal snow times in Niseko, Japan. 14m of snow!!!

Most magical snow experience? Waking up in Kyoto to heavy snowfall. This was so special it will get its own “Wonderful” listing…

To be continued tomorrow.

~ by Niccola on January 3, 2012.

28 Responses to “30 kinds of wonderful: 1. Snow.”

  1. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  2. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  3. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  4. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  5. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  6. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  7. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  8. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  9. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  10. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  11. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  12. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  13. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  14. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  15. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  16. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  17. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  18. […] counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. Now let’s […]

  19. […] OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. […]

  20. […] OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. […]

  21. […] OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. […]

  22. […] OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. […]

  23. […] OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. […]

  24. […] OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. […]

  25. […] OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. […]

  26. […] OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. […]

  27. […] OK, so I’m doing this thing where I’m counting down to my 30th birthday with 30 kinds of wonderful. If you need to catch up, just start here. […]

  28. […] thirty days (give or take) leading up to my thirtieth birthday, I did thirty blog posts entitled Thirty Kinds of Wonderful. The basic idea was to take the thirty things I was most grateful for, or that meant the most, and […]

Leave a Reply

 
