These days

I’ve stopped my dreaming,
I won’t do too much scheming
These days, these days.
These days I sit on corner stones
And count the time in quarter tones to ten.
Please don’t confront me with my failures,
I had not forgotten them.
Nico – These Days

I’m sorry, dearest reader. My silence has been a simple result of not knowing what to say. And then this morning this song popped up on my iphone on the way to work and I thought that it summed it up pretty nicely.

This year has been all about change. It’s been about realising my dreams as an artist, proving that I can go my own way as a professional, and finding myself a space, both inside and out, where I can truly be myself.

Recently it’s felt like one big cosmic whirlpool has whisked me up and it hasn’t quite put me down yet. In short succession, I had a large sculpture fail on me, an art prize fall on me, a full-time job offer happen on me (which to my surprise I accepted) and then a new house grab me.

I’m trying to play it cool, and not to dream too much, and to let things come. I find it interesting that in this most busy and stressful of times I find myself (in the words of Nico) counting time in quarter tones to ten.

By the way, that house up there? That’s not the house. It’s another place we inspected that reminded me of a place where I spent time as a small child. The house in question is still asking about $100,000 more than I would pay for nostalgia, but it’s nice to know it’s out there.

 

 

~ by Niccola on July 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
