Artistic collaborations from beyond the grave

It sounds creepy, doesn’t it? But I’m not lying, my latest creations really are a collaboration between my (sadly long departed) grandmother and myself.

You see, my grandmother was the most amazing knitter. I’m actually quite ashamed of just how much my own needlecraft skills pale alongside hers. And she was also incredibly beautiful, don’t you agree?

grandma

Well, grandma left us with the most extraordinary collection of hand knitted jumpers, and my mother has been wearing them ever since with enormous dedication. But even the best jumpers eventually get a bit lumpy and misshapen, so I thought it was time to give them a new lease of life. Here’s a “before” photo – grandma’s contribution…

blue_brown_vest_0461_sml

And here’s where I come in…

I’m currently stockpiling my creations for a big summer of art and craft markets so I’m not listing my recycled range on etsy, but if you’d like one these cuties just drop me note.

~ by Niccola on October 22, 2009.

3 Responses to “Artistic collaborations from beyond the grave”

  1. Aww that’s beautiful! I love how you have recycled something old your Grandma had made. It is such a beautiful colour so it’s great it hasn’t gone to waste.

    My grandma taught me to crochet as a kid, and she used to make all sorts of crochet and knitted treasures that she would give away to charity. I am so happy I have gotten into crocheting amigurumi now, as I am sure Grandma would be so happy and amused by what I am making!

    • Thanks Amy!

      I think our grandmothers would be very touched that we admire them so much, and that their creations are living on…

      A big cheer for crafty grandmas everywhere!

  2. Hooray for crafty grandmas!

Leave a Reply

 
