The Giant Squid who commanded 820 views in a day

When you write a small blog about a small topic like crochet you hardly expect to make any waves.

So, yesterday when I posted up the photos of Walter the Giant Squid at Tamarama, I expected thirty or so facebook friends to click across and have a little smile at my handy work. Well, you can imagine my shock when I opened up my dashboard and found several hundred hits staring me in the face. It took me a while to figure out how, or why, all these complete strangers were spontaneously dropping by to say hello. But finally I got there, and saw this, to my surprise and delight!

vonwoof on wordpress 24.08.09

Thanks so much, WordPress, for featuring Walter and I on your front page for a day. And thanks to everyone who said something nice when they visited.

I’m still grinning from ear to ear. These giant animals take a while to create, but I’m planning another shoot with Walter this weekend (hopefully this time with all 8 legs and 2 tentacles in tow) and I’m also starting work on a giant grasshopper.

And in the meantime I have a few little side projects to share with you along the way. So, to all my new friends out there, please drop by again soon!

~ by Niccola on August 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Giant Squid who commanded 820 views in a day”

  1. Hi Nic! Congrats on your blog notoriety- all thanks to a giant squid, and tons of hard work, of course! I’m very proud!

    Thanks also for your post re. Me as a Faun- much appreciated, and very amusing! Sorry it took me awhile to comment! Thanks also for the link! I will link you to my blog once uni calms down!

    Love your friend,

    Carla the Faunzie

  2. Hi there! I’m the homepage editor for WordPress who stumbled upon your post. It was quirky, well-written and included photos — the three things I look for — so keep it up! And I’m thrilled to see how many PVs you got as a result.

Leave a Reply

 
