This little piggy has very big feet.

I occasionally find myself wondering idly how new parents would feel if they had a truly ugly baby.

Terrible I know, and let me hasten to add that I’ve never actually met a truly ugly baby, but I can’t help but dread the possibility that one day I might.

What I wonder about is whether it’s possible for new parents to even realise that their child is ugly, or whether the sheer strength of parental love makes this an impossibility.

Anyway, before you all start hurling insults at me and my pathetic superficiality, and demanding to see photos so you can tell me how ugly I am, let me explain where this mental meandering springs from.

There’s always a point during the creation of a new animal where I stop, tilt my head and go… “ah crap, this one’s going to be REALLY ugly.” And then I tilt my head the other way and go… “I’m an idiot. The nose should be bigger, the ears should be smaller, the legs are simply RIDICULOUS and no-one in their right mind would ever want this little abortion. I should just unravel it and start again because it’s too cruel to send this ugly little creature into that mean mean world of ours.”

But then I look into my critter’s crooked little eyes (I always put their eyes on before anything else so they can see what’s going on, and so I can get a little window into their soul while I finish crocheting their noses and ears and limbs and tails – awwww) and go “but you’re YOU and I like you and I couldn’t unpick funny little old YOU…” and I leave them for 24 hours just to see if they grow on me.

And they always do.

My case in point, this little piggy. Poor little thing, she was an experiment. I wanted to see what big limbs would look like on a round body. And to try a different style of snout. Snouts are hard and I don’t seem to be mastering them so far.

She’s not quite right, really, but I love her. Just the way she is.

Her name is Bridget. Take a minute to get to know her and I’m sure you’ll love her too.

Bridget is hanging out on Etsy, if you’d like to get to know her a bit better.

~ by Niccola on August 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
