Catalina the Purple Penguin

Sometimes my crocheted creations will turn into small versions of friends of mine, quite unintentionally on my part. Their personalities just evolve that way, and in the end I have no choice but to send them off to the person in question, because after all, if you had a small crocheted version of yourself wandering around you’d want it sent your way, right?

Catalina was actually meant to be something else. A poodle, from memory. But when she sat, half completed in my lap, looking like a purple snowman with two white circles on her front, all I could see was a penguin. And when I gave her an orange beak, I realised that she wasn’t just any old penguin. She was Catalina the penguin.

So here’s a bit about Catalina the purple penguin, just enough to whet your imagination.

Catalina loves wearing hats of all different shapes and sizes, and looks particularly fine in a tweed sherlock holmes hat. She is a great believer in snail mail, and sends her friends weird old postcards discovered in her grandmother’s house. She dreams of having chickens. She’s a writer, a photographer, an illustrator and an innovator.

She certainly stands out on the ice shelf.

I can’t guarantee that I can create another Catalina, but I can certainly stitch more purple penguins. Visit my etsy store if you’d like one of your own.

~ by Niccola on August 4, 2009.

2 Responses to “Catalina the Purple Penguin”

  1. I love it, I love it, I love it.
    My hat goes off to you clever girl, just made my day :)

    Another lovely piece of snail mail is headed your way x

Leave a Reply

 
