One very golden wedding

My dad is getting remarried, and all I can say is, it’s going to be one hell of a wedding.

The theme is “gold” and it’s going to be a sort of wild Venetian Carnivale type affair in a vineyard with fire twirlers and gilded masks, among other delights. I think it’s rather appropriate, especially considering that my dad is in his mid-60s. No wispy white meringue-type creations here.

I offered to make the wedding invites, and after many months of raw nerves, changes of heart, and a few crises of communication, we ended up with these.

These 50 invites are the culmination of a lot of experimentation with gold leaf. Gold leaf is extremely fiddly to work with. It flutters and crumbles and turns to dust before your very eyes. In the end I put the gold leaf through a two-stage gluing process to enable it to be cut into dove shapes.

And the end result is pretty special, really.

Now my apartment, my half-completed crocheted beaver (more on him soon!) and the inside of my lungs are lightly coated in gold leaf. 

I’m looking forward to experimenting with other gold leaf designs now, and the dove invites are up on Etsy. I’m interested to see if they have a broader appeal. They’re here if you’d like a better look or more information.

~ by Niccola on August 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
